Drinking and driving defense attorney
There is no such thing as being charged with the criminal offense of drinking and driving in Michigan. Drinking and driving in Michigan is an umbrella of criminal charges that involve the use of an automobile and an intoxicating substance.
Drinking and Driving Michigan Offenses
Drinking and driving in Michigan consists of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), Operating With the Presence of a Controlled Substance (OWPCS) BAC Greater than .17 (Super Drunk), and Zero Tolerance (Minor BAC). There are other drinking and driving charges in Michigan but these are probably the most common.
The charges of drinking and driving can be “aggravated.” An aggravator means more jail time, a longer suspension or added revocation, greater fines, or possibly a felony charge depending on if it results in one of the following: causing death, causing serious injury, causing serious impairment of a bodily function, and child endangerment.
Any of the drinking and driving charges listed above result in license sanctions imposed by the Michigan Secretary of State. Depending on the charge, your license will be restricted and could be suspended anywhere from 0 months to a year.
Being convicted with any of the above listed drinking and driving offense twice in 7 years will result in a license revocation, which means your license is gone until you attend a reinstatement hearing.
Defending drinking and driving in Michigan
You drank, you drove, your guilty, right? Wrong!
Did you think you were sober or under the legal limit only to be told you were wrong? Don’t be surprised, the Breathalyzer you take at the scene is so inaccurate, that excluding a few exceptions; it is not admissible in front of a jury. The DataMaster at the station is an intricate scientific machine that many officers operate incorrectly, which can lead to falsely inflated blood alcohol.
Did you know that police often pull people over illegally? Yes, the police often stop people for infractions that do not actually exist. That could mean a dismissal of the drinking and driving charges against you.
For more information on Drinking and driving in Michigan click here.
If you have been charged with drinking and driving in Michigan contact criminal defense lawyer, Aaron J. Boria 248-956-0350.