Fight your traffic tickets and avoid hefty fines, points, and stop your insurance from costing an arm and a leg. Most of the time you don’t even have to go to court.
Speeding tickets are considered civil infractions in Michigan. The penalty for which can include hefty fines, license suspension or revocation, and high insurance premiums.
If you are found to be responsible of a speeding ticket in Michigan points will be placed on your license for a period of two years. Your insurance company will raise your premium based on these points.
You have 21 days from the date of the Michigan traffic ticket to either pay the fine or schedule a hearing. If you fail to act then 45 days after the 21st day mark your license will be suspended. If your license is suspended it will cost additional money to have it reinstated. This additional fee can only be paid to the district court. The court will give you proof that you satisfied your fines. This proof must be taken to the Secretary of State’s office to lift the suspension.
Continuing to drive on a suspended license will result in criminal penalties, including the possibility of jail.
Driving on a Suspended License: Driving on a suspended license is a common traffic related Misdemeanor. The offenses can carry serious driving sanctions, court costs, driver responsibility fees, and even jail time. The offense can be defended with an experienced attorney. Call us today for a free consultation.
Six Points Offenses:
Felonies involving a motor vehicle including: Manslaughter, or negligent homicide. Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs (OWI), failing to stop and give identification at the scene of an accident, reckless driving, refusal to take a chemical test (PBT refusal), and fleeing or eluding a police officer.
Four Points Offenses:
Operating while visibly impaired, OWI, under the age of 21 with any bodily alcohol content, drag racing, 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit, failure to yield or failure to show due caution for emergency vehicles.
Three Points Offenses:
Careless driving, disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing, 11 to 15 mph over the legal speed limit, failure to stop at railroad crossing failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.
Two Points Offenses:
6 to10 mph over the speed limit, open alcohol container in vehicle, all other moving violations of traffic laws.
In most cases, a lawyer can just go to court and take care of your ticket without you, so you don’t have to burden yourself with the hassle of going to court and having to miss work or school.
- Failure to Stop at a Red Light, Stop Sign
– Failure to Use Turn Signal
– Failure to Stop for a Siren
– Failure to Stop for a School Bus
– Failure to Yield a Right-of-Way
– Failure to Use Child Car Seat
– Failure to Carry Liability Insurance
– Illegal U-Turn
– Illegal Passing
– Following Too Closely
– Exceeding the Speed Limit
– Driving While Impaired by Alcohol or Drugs
– Driving With a Suspended License
– Driving With a Revoked License
– Careless and Reckless Driving
– Hit and Run or Leaving the Scene of an Accident
– Driving Without Insurance or Insufficient Insurance
– Driver Under 21 Years of Age who has Consumed Alcohol
– Manslaughter or Negligent Homicide involving a Motor Vehicle
– Driving With an Expired Registration
– Driving on the Wrong Side of the Road