If you are found guilty of the felony, carry a concealed weapon in Michigan (CCW) you could face up to 5 years in prison, and a fine of $2,500.00.
Michigan Open Carry Firearm:
You can openly carry a gun in the state of Michigan. However, you cannot open carry in any of the following places:
Place of worship
Day Care Center
If you violate the open carry law by going into one of these establishments you could be charged with a 90 day misdemeanor under Michigan Law. If an officer believes that you were “concealing” the weapon you could be charged with felony carrying a concealed weapon.
CPL Pistol Free Zones
Even if you have a license to carry a concealed weapon there are “pistol free zones” you need to be aware of.
Place of Worship
Entertainment facility with 2,500 or more capacity
The first offense is a civil infraction.
Remember, never carry a gun into a federal building, such as a post office!
How to properly transport a gun:
It is a felony to transport a pistol in a motor vehicle unless you are licensed to cary a gun (CPL). If you want to Open Cary you must have the pistol unloaded, in a firearms case, in the trunk. If there is no trunk it must not be readily accessible to the occupants.
As a Michigan criminal defense lawyer, the best advice we could give is to get a CPL if you are going to own a gun and avoid being charged with a potential crime.
If you have been charged with Michigan CCW or with a Michigan Carry Concealed Weapons charge contact criminal defense lawyer Aaron J. Boria today for a free consultation. (734) 453-7806