Governor Granholm has signed public act 2008 PA 462. This act will take action October 31, 2010, this Halloween. The act is being called Michigan’s Super Drunk law.
Under this new law, drivers with Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .17 or more will be subject to prosecution under the Super Drunk law.
Prosecution under the new law greatly increases penalties. Some of the changes are as follows:
Fines will range from $200 up to $700;
Possible jail time of 93 days has been increased to 180 days;
Licensing sanctions for at least a year with Mandatory license suspension of 45 days;
After 45 days suspension a drive can install an interlock device for 320 more days; and,
The price that companies can charge for the interlock device has increased.
Now more than ever it is imperative defendants hire a lawyer who knows how to handle criminal discovery and knowledge of the science behind BAC and how to challenge it.
For more on Michigan drinking and driving check out page out our page on drinking and driving charges in Michigan.