Everyone makes mistake. Further proof of that is Sarah Naughton, an Illinois assistant state attorney who was charged with misdemeanor battery and misdemeanor criminal trespass after a disturbance at Taboo Tabou, an adult novelty store in Chicago.
For those that don’t know, a “state attorney” is the equivalent of a prosecutor here in Michigan. A prosecutor is the person that brings criminal charges against a person accused of a crime.
Below is the link to the YouTube video that caught footage just moments after the arrest:
Under arrest for assault and battery
She appears to be missing a shoe and unhappy with the handcuffs.
According to the “Above the Law” article Ms. Naughton was asked to leave by the Taboo Tabou owner who suspected she was overly intoxicated. When a local store manager came to the store owners aid is is reported that Ms. Naughton pulled out a badge and snapped: “You can’t do this to me. Do you know who I am?”
The person with Ms. Naughton took a swing at the store manager. Naughton fell to the ground during the scuffle and bit the employee’s leg while on the ground, breaking the skin.
Like in all criminal case, Ms. Naughton is innocent until proven guilty.
In sincere honesty I do not take any pleasure in seeing anyone in an intoxicated state committing a crime and being arrested, even a prosecutor. Even though she is innocent until proven guilty there is a chance that she could lose her job based on the allegations alone, and will likely face consequences with the Illinois Bar. The stigma of being charged may stick with her longer than any conviction. As a defense attorney we tend to be more empathetic and forgiving. It is nice to know that maybe after this it will teach other prosecutors that people make mistakes – even prosecutors.
The Michigan equivalent is assault or aggravated assault. Here are the punishments she could be facing:
Assault and Battery
The maximum punishment for misdemeanor assault and battery is 93 days in jail and a $500.00 fines and costs.
For more information on assault and battery defense click here.
Aggravated Assault Punishment
First offense aggravated assault is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Second or subsequent aggravated assault is a felony punishable by up to 2 years in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.00.
Click here for more information on aggravated assault defense.
If you have been charged with a crime contact assault and battery defense lawyer Aaron J. Boria (734) 453-7806.