Drunk Boating Lawyer – Michigan
Not many states enforce drunk boating laws as strictly as Michigan. As of this year, the legal limit to operate a boat has been lowered from a .10 to a .08, the same as Operating a Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated on a road.
If you are being charged with drunk boating take it seriously, the judge, police, and prosecution will be.
Call drunk boating lawyer, Aaron J. Boria today for a free consultation (734) 453-7806.
Penalty For Drunk Boating in Michigan
If you are convicted for drunk boating you will face the following penalties:
Up to 93 days in Jail
Up to 45 days of community service
Up to $500 in fines plus costs
Up to 2 years of probation
A second offense for drunk boating carries mandatory jail time and mandatory community service.
If you are convicted of drunk boating while someone under the age of 16 was on the boat then you face mandatory jail time, mandatory community service, massive fines and probation. A second offense is a felony and carries a mandatory year of incarceration.
If someone is injured or killed as a result of drunk boating then you face a felony and years in prison.
If you refuse to submit to a preliminary breath test you will also face a civil infraction. If you are arrested and refuse a chemical test then your boating license will be suspended for 6 months.
Drunk Boating Lawyer
Whether you were arrested on land or sea drunk boating lawyer, Aaron J. Boria has got your back.
Just like on the road, the police must have probable cause to arrest you for drunk boating. If the police violated your rights while obtaining evidence then that evidence should be suppressed and your case dismissed.
Call (734) 453-7806 today for drunk boating lawyer, Aaron J. Boria