Expired CPL and Carrying a Concealed Weapon
If you get caught carrying a concealed weapon without a valid carry concealed pistol license you need to call criminal defense lawyer, Aaron J. Boria immediately (734) 453-7806.
What happens if you carry a concealed weapon and your concealed pistol license is expired?
Carrying a concealed weapon without a valid license is a felony with a maximum penalty of up to five years in prison and a $2,500.00 fine. There are other obvious penalties that come with having a felony such as the loss of your ability to own a gun at all, the inability to enter certain countries, difficulty to obtaining employment, and other social stigmas.
If you are caught carrying a concealed weapon with an expired pistol license is the same crime as if you never had a license at all, it is still a violation of the CCW law, MCL 750.227, and you would still face a five-year felony with a $2,500.00 fine. There is no difference under the law if you are caught carrying a concealed pistol without a license, or with an expired license, the result is a felony.
A concealed weapon does not require complete invisibility. Under Michigan CCW, carrying a pistol under your coat would be a violation of the law.
Open Carry in Michigan
Many people will choose not to obtain a CPL and will open carry. You will not find a law that states it is legal to openly carry a firearm in Michigan. Open carry is not technically a law in Michigan, but it is the act of carrying a gun without violating a combination of firearm laws.
If you choose to “open carry” you have to make sure that you do not carry your weapon in a prohibited place such as a bank, church, or bar.
You cannot open carry a pistol in a vehicle. When transporting a pistol, it must be in a trunk or in a place not readily accessible to occupants of the vehicle, unloaded, in a closed case designed for a firearm.
CCW Lawyer Michigan
If you are facing criminal charges for illegally carrying a firearm than you need to contact criminal lawyer, Aaron J. Boria (734) 453-7806.
Boria has represented people charged with felony CCW and obtained amazing results. Here are just a few examples:
In Madison Heights a client was charged with CCW after his license had expired. The result when attorney Boria was done with the case was a minor misdemeanor, the client paid a $325 fine and left the court.
In Livonia, a client was charged with CCW, felony firearm, and assault with a weapon after a road rage incident. This client was put on probation, paid a fine, and his charge was reduced to misdemeanor brandishing.
A client in Farmington was caught with a double-sided knife and charged with CCW. His case was reduced to improper transport, a minor misdemeanor, he paid a fine and left the court.
In Canton, a girl was charged with possessing a taser that was concealed in her purse without a license while intoxicated. The felony gun charge was completely dismissed.
How to Obtain a CPL in Michigan
In order to legally carry a concealed weapon, you need to be a licensed CPL holder. To obtain a valid CPL you must complete a pistol safety training course, pay applicable fees to the county clerk, along with a completed CPL application, fingerprints, application fee and to be legally elidable.
The county clerk has 45 days to issue a valid CPL or provide notice to the applicant as to why they are disqualified from obtaining a CPL.
Facing criminal charges for illegally carrying a firearm? You need to contact criminal lawyer, Aaron J. Boria (734) 453-7806.