Assault and Battery – Michigan – Criminal Lawyer
Charged with assault and battery in Michigan? Depending on the facts of the case, or the allegations, you could be facing anything from a 93-day misdemeanor to a felony punishable by years in prison.
Michigan assault and battery lawyer, Aaron J. Boria, has obtained reductions, dismissals, and not guilty verdicts for everyday people charged with assault and battery. Contact Michigan assault and battery lawyer, Aaron J. Boria today for a free consultation.
Assault and Battery in Michigan
A simple assault is the lowest assault misdemeanor we have in Michigan. It is punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a hefty fine. If a person is injured then the defendant could be charged with aggravated assault, a one-year misdemeanor. If a weapon is involved then the defendant could be charged with felonious assault.
The more severe felonious assault charge is based on the facts of the case. That charge is called assault with the intent to do great bodily harm less than murder.
Many times other charges are added along with the assault charge. For instance, if felonious assault is charged because a person has a gun it is likely that felony firearm will be charged along with it.
Assault and Battery Defense Michigan
Michigan assault and battery lawyer, Aaron J. Boria has the experience you need to fight your case.
The most common defenses to assault charges include the following:
Self-Defense: You have an absolute right to defend yourself
Defense of Others: You have the right to defend other people
Accident: Accidents are a defense because it means you lacked criminal intent
Mistake: Mistakes are a defense because again you lacked criminal intent
Other common defense include that someone was lying, someone thought you were someone else, or some other defense that may only apply to your case.