Can I get a Personal Bond
If you have been charged with a crime then at your first appearance in court the judge must make a ruling on bond. Michigan Court Rule 6.106 is the rule that controls bond.
If you have been charged with a crime contact Michigan criminal lawyer, Aaron J. Boria (734) 453-7806.
What is Bond?
In its simplest terms, bond is a promise to return to court to defend the charges against you. If you fail to return to court then the judge can revoke the bond and you will owe the court money.
Types of Bond
The judge can deny bond, release you on a cash bond, or release you on a personal recognizance bond (a personal bond).
With a cash bond the judge can order that it be ten percent, cash or surety. So, the judge could order a $10,000.00-10% bond. In that case a person would only post $1,000.00 (10% of 10,000) but if they violate their bond conditions or fail to show up at court then the judge can revoke the bond and the person would owe the full $10,000 to the court.
Unless you are charged with?murder, treason, or charged?with committing a violent felony while on probation, parole, or already on bond for another violent felony, or in the past 15 years of being charged with and convicted of two or more violent felonies the court must allow for some type of bond. MCR 6.106(B)(1)
If you are charged with criminal sexual conduct in the first degree, armed robbery, or kidnapping with the intent to extort money and if the court believes there is overwhelming evidence against you, then unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the you are not likely to flee or present a danger to any other person the court may deny bond. MCR 6.106(B)(1)(b)
The court will issue a personal recognizance (personal bond) it may be subject to the conditions such as not leaving the state without permission of the court, and will not commit any new crimes while released, unless the court believes the person is a danger to the public or will not return to court.
The court may order the following conditions when addressing bond (MCR6.106(D)(2)(a)-(m):
Cannot Leave the state
Cannot commit any new offenses
Report to the court as directed
Do not use alcohol or illegal drugs
Drug and alcohol test
Attend substance abuse treatment, or physical or mental treatment
The court may place restrictions on personal associations, place of residence, or place of employment
The court may order you to: surrender you driver’s license or passport; have a curfew, seek employment, go to school
The court can order that you stay in the custody of someone else
Cannot possess a firearm or other dangerous weapon
Cannot be certain places
Cannot assault anyone
If you are facing a crime and then you need a Michigan criminal lawyer that understands the rules and knows how to get results. Call (734) 453-7806 for a free consultation.