False Police Report in Michigan
Being charged with False Police Report is a serious accusation of a criminal offense that could land you in jail or even prison.
If you have been charged with committing the crime of making a false police report call criminal defense lawyer, Aaron J. Boria today )734) 453-7806.
Canton False Police Report
On September 27, Canton police were dispatched to a home in response to a Home Invasion. According to the police report, police found a door jam that had broken and was speculated that someone was trying to break in to the home. No one was found inside the home and there was no indication that anything had been tampered with.
Police became suspicious when one of the homes occupants reported that nothing was missing without going inside and looking around. Upon further questioning, police claim that the occupants’s statements seemed to conflict with each other.
Police then questioned a neighbor and were told that the neighbor overheard an argument between two of the home’s occupants regarding the door being locked.
Police questioned the homeowner again and now claim to have gained a confession. According to police, the homeowner was upset that his daughter broke the door to get into the house after being locked out. The homeowner didn’t want to pay for the damage, so he made a false police report.
The case will be heard at the 35th District Court in Plymouth which handles criminal cases for Plymouth, Northville, and Canton.
Michigan Criminal Lawyer
The story above was found in the Plymouth Canton Patch and was based on a police report. Remember, a police report is only one side of a story, and any one charged with a crime is presumed innocent until proven guilty.
One thing to look at in this case would be to decide if the police truly did gain a confession, or did they manipulate the facts. If the Canton police did gain a confession, was it obtained legally? If the homeowner or the daughter were in a police custodial interrogation and were not given Miranda warnings then their “confession” is not admissible.
False Police Report
MCL 750.411a is the law that covers Michigan False Police Reports. It states that it is a crime to make a false police report in Michigan and can be punished as a misdemeanor that would include up to 93 days in jail and up to $500.00 in fines, or even a felony that could result in up to 4 years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.00.
If you have been charged with a crime contact Michigan criminal lawyer, Aaron J. Boria today for a free consultation (734) 453-7806.